A Taste Of Things To Come

3 Nov

This week has been filled with senior meetings, a tour of group show works, many hours of drawing and one nasty head cold that is making me hate life. As of now I’m keeping this post short with an image that was just completed today. It’s a graphite drawing that will end up in the form of a zinc/steel plate etching. The imagery (like most of my prints) comes from a dream in which a sense of anxiety and fears were overwhelming. I found myself in a large chain linked cage inhabited by exotic birds. The birds  were aggressive and curious throwing my senses in panic. The dimensions of the image is 18×24 and I will likely start the plate next week.

2 Responses to “A Taste Of Things To Come”

  1. Ed Mighell November 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Looks like the start of a fantastic etching. My ceramics instructor brought by a visiting professor from Alfred to my summer booth at the Anchorage weekend market, and he had some great tips. Check out some of the print conferences some time, you’ll here inside printmaker jokes. Like, one time at a conference, an elevator gave a sudden jolt, and a young student went “whew, almost lost half the world’s printmakers”.

  2. Betsy Wills November 29, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Terrific piece.

Leave a Reply

